Mold Camera Club

2010 AGM Report

Go down

2010 AGM Report Empty 2010 AGM Report

Post by Chris Noble on Sat May 29, 2010 7:21 pm

Monday 17th May saw a good gathering of members for the Annual General Meeting at Cathrina House. The Chairman opened the meeting by accepting apologies and finalizing agreement for the minutes of the last AGM. He then continued by thanking all the committee members for their commitment to the club during the year and the great efforts that had been made in putting together a very successful season. David also went on to talk about the various projects that the club had been involved in (Flintshire Drive, National Eisteddfod, Gwyl Fama & Clean Up Mold) and stressed the importance that we continue to do such work as it has a great effect on our standing as a club in the community.

In the absence of the Treasurer (Peter), Stuart (Membership Secretary) presented the accounts of the club. Whilst the finances are in a very good state, due to other commitments, Stuart & Peter had been unable to finalise the accounts. It was agreed to provisionally accept the accounts and that Peter and Stuart would finalise these in the coming weeks. A short debate continued on the membership fees and it was agreed to keep them at their present rate for the year ahead.

Andy then gave us a rundown of our entries in external competitions. At our own event (Interclub Battle) we managed a magnanimous second place to Hoylake while Ann-Marie took the best individual award with Bald Eagle. The event had been a great success and led to tremendous feedback from other clubs attending. (CLICK HERE for Andy’s full report).

Andy then went on to report about our mediocre efforts at the NWPA Interclub Competition and the Whitby Club competitions. However some success had occurred in the shape of the Raffles with both he and Rishi winning on more than one occasion.

Chris then gave a report of the internal competitions. In all we 599 entries for our 7 club competitions which had produced a total of 16 different winners. In addition there were the two newsletter competitions which had been sponsored by Welshot Imaging and Cambrian Photography. A full report on the results can be found on page 15. Chris showed an AV of the winning images throughout the season which was a welcome reminder of the high standard the club has reached. With Chris Davies winning the Photographer of the Year, Andy did point out that he had loaned the trophy to Stuart last season and he now felt obliged to loan it to Chris, but he has said he wants it back next year (a challenge has been put down).

Bob gave the next report on the events held throughout the year and how well the balance between practical evenings, competitions, walks and lectures was working for the club. He did admit that he had to have his arm twisted to bring back practical evenings but agreed they had been a great success. Bob also reported that he was well on the way to producing the calendar for next season.

Rishi then gave a report on the successful exhibition of 88 prints held at Buckley Library in September. Of the entries 8 received Highly Commended awards and another 12 were commended. Overall the feedback from those visiting the exhibition was very good. The next exhibition is also to be held at Buckley will begin in August. More details in a future issue

On the publicity side Eric thanked all members who had allowed their prints to be used at Mold Library. He also reported that he had still got good relations with The Chronicle even though they have moved to Chester and that he would continue with this throughout the coming year. Eric also advised that he was looking into some exhibition space in some of the empty shops in Mold.

The Raffle Queen (Janet) then reported on a successful year bringing in good funding for the club and the Tea Boy (Mike) gave a resounding report on how well Catering profits had increased due to the high attendance at meetings during the season.

With the reports all finalised and accepted the meeting then moved to elect the new committee. David reported that John Rutter (Hon. Secretary), Peter Thomas (Hon. Treasurer), Stuart Worrall (Membership Sec.) and Mike Ingman (Catering Sec.) all wished to stand down from the committee. David thanked all four for their sterling work during their time as officers of the club.

After some arm twisting and strategic volunteering the following committee was elected to serve for the 2010/11 season:

Chairman David Allen

Vice Chairman Jonathan Frings

Hon. Secretary Chris Noble

Hon. Treasurer Jonathan Frings

Membership Sec. Mike Catania

Programme Sec. Bob Morgan

Internal Competitions Sec. Chris Noble

External Competitions Sec. Andy Polakowski

Exhibitions Sec. Rishi Sharma

Publicity Officer Eric Keen

NWPA Representative Andy Polakowski

Catering Sec. Steve Jones

Raffle Sec. Janet M. Davies

Ordinary Members Ian Parker & Ann-Marie Metcalfe

Following the election of officers the constitution was ratified and Chris gave out brief details of the Competition Schedule for next season (CLICK HERE for full details). The meeting closed with a re-showing of the Photographers in Action AV showing images taken during last summer’s outings.

Chris Noble
Chris Noble
Chris Noble

Posts : 2175
Join date : 2010-05-20

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum